Home Politics Extinction threatens APC as 32 reps, 15 senators defect to PDP, ADC

Extinction threatens APC as 32 reps, 15 senators defect to PDP, ADC


In what appears to be the beginning of the end for the unmitigated cataclysm called the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), 32 of its members in the House of Representatives have defected to the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) .
Similarly, 15 senators of APC have defected to the PDP
Four others in the APC from Oyo State also defected to the ADC, bringing the total number of defectors to 37.
The Speaker, Mr. Yakubu Dogara, has just made the announcement, throwing the PDP camp into jubilation.
However, the APC still remains in the majority.
In a similar development, the Senate President, Bukola Saraki, has read a letter from 15 members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) senators declaring their defection from the ruling All Progressives Congress to the PDP.
The lawmakers include Rabi’u Kwankwaso (Kano-Central), Dino Melaye (Kogi-West), Adesoji Akanbi (Oyo-South), Monsurat Sunmonu (Oyo-Central), Rafiu Ibrahim (Kwara-South), Suleiman Hunkuyi (Kaduna-North), and Lanre Tejuoso (Ogun-Central).
Others are Usman Nafada (Gombe), Ibrahim Dambaba (Sokoto), Mohammed Shittu (Jigawa) Isa Misau (Bauchi) Suleiman Nazif (Bauchi) Shaaba Lafiagi (Kwara) and Barnabas Gemade (Benue).
Also, Senator Abdul-Azeez Murtala-Nyako (Adamawa) who had earlier dumped the APC for the African Democratic Congress, also formalised his defection.
Saraki, while responding to the plea by the Majority Leader, Senator Ahmad Lawan, for the defectors to rescind their decision, lambasted the APC.
More members of the House of Representatives and senators are expected to dump the sinking APC tomorrow and Thursday when the National Assembly will be proceeding on vacation.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.